Buckley Awards


Thursday, May 19, 2022
7:30 p.m.
Betty Lynn Buckley Awards est. 2000 - Casa Mañana

Named after Fort Worth’s own Tony® Award-winning Best Actress, Fort Worth Independent School District and Casa Mañana alumna Betty Lynn Buckley, this exciting scholarship awards program has stood to promote and celebrate excellence in high school musical theatre since 2000. Participation is open to Denton, Wise, Parker, Hood, Johnson and Tarrant County. The program culminates in a virtual Tony® Awards-style ceremony at Casa Mañana Theatre.

Awards include a scholarship, which is provided by generous donors who recognize the benefits of this program and the impact musical theatre has on the lives of students.  To underwrite a scholarship, please contact Development at 817-321-5005 or Donate Now.

Click here to learn more about participation guidelines and how to apply. Interested in being a Buckley Judge? Apply here.


A panel of distinguished judges – comprised of local theatre professionals and educators – votes for a winner in each of 14 award categories: 

Best Musical
Best Play
Best Student Orchestra
Best Female Lead Actor in a Musical
Best Female Lead Actor in a Play
Best Male Lead Actor in a Musical
Best Male Lead Actor in a Play
Best Female Supporting Actor in a Musical
Best Male Supporting Actor in a Musical
Excellence in Lighting Design
Excellence in Costume Design
Excellence in Scenic Design
Excellence in Sound Design
Excellence in Choreography